PRESBYTERY OF YUKON SPECIAL CALLED MEETING JANUARY 7, 2023

A special called meeting of the Presbytery of Yukon convened via videoconference (Zoom) on Saturday, January 7, 2023 at 10:00 am.

ROLL:

Minister Members Present:

Leisa Carrick – interim Presbytery Exec, copastor United Protestant Church Tim Carrick – co-pastor, United Protestant Church Piper Cartland – pastor, Eagle River PC Luke Jones – pastor, Jewel Lake Parish Richard Mauer – pastor, Delta PC

Elder Members Present:

<u>Church Elder Commissioners:</u> Clyde Kaneshiro – Anchor PC Elsie Eckman – Immanuel PC Margaret Durst – University Community PC Winifred Findley – First Anchorage PC

Other Enrolled Elders:

Bob Christensen – *Leadership Team* Danna Larson – *Certified Christian Educator* Doreen McNeill – *Stated Clerk*

Guests Present:

CP Lois Hildenbrand – *University Community PC temporary pastor,* Elders Sharon Rayt and Diana Rotkis.

The meeting was called to order by Moderator Rev. Joseph Reid.

A quorum was declared.

Rev. Matt Schultz opened in prayer at 10:03 a.m.

AGENDA ITEMS:

Nominations were opened for the election of a new Stated Clerk, class of 2026. Nominating Committee chair, Shirley Novak, nominated Doreen McNeill on behalf of the committee. There were no nominations from the floor. It was moved and seconded to close nominations. Motion to elect Doreen McNeill as Stated Clerk, class of 2026 carried by unanimous consent.

Joseph Reid –stated supply, Utqiaġvik PC Elizabeth Schultz – member-at-large Matthew Schultz – pastor, First Anchorage PC Kyoung Seo – member-at-large Henry Woodall – pastor, First Wasilla PC Seung Hyun Yoo – pastor, First Korean Anchorage PC

Ron Illingworth – *New Hope PC* CP Mary Ellen Lucas – *Delta PC* John Russell – *Trinity PC* Beverly Woodall - *First Wasilla PC* Susan Woods - *Jewel Lake Parish*

CP Debbie Melton – *Leadership Team* Shirley Novak – *Nominating Committee Moderator* Proposed Amendments to the Constitution approved by 225th General Assembly - 'Directory of Worship' Amendments 22-T through 22-BB. It was moved and seconded to move discussion and voting on these amendments to the February 23–24 Presbytery meeting. After discussion, motion carried with no objection. Thanks were given to CP Mary Ellen Lucas who attended the 225th General Assembly and was prepared to speak on each proposal.

Ministry Commission recommendation to close Anchor Presbyterian Church: In light of unfruitful attempts to invite members and friends of the church to discuss the church's future and gather for worship, the Ministry Commission recommends with sorrow and gratitude, that Anchor Presbyterian Church be closed, and that the Ministry Commission be appointed to serve as an Administrative Commission to wind up the affairs of the church, along with the sole remaining member(s), and that there be a recognition of the church's ministry and a closing ceremony at the Winter 2023 Presbytery meeting. Discussion and explanation of the events leading to Ministry Commission's recommendation followed, including many expressions of appreciation and gratitude for this ministry and its leaders, and the invitation for Anchor to continue as a Native Fellowship at Anchorage First Presbyterian Church. Motion carried with one abstention and no objection.

RECOGNITION:

Sharon Rayt was recognized for her 23 years of service as Stated Clerk. Many members expressed their appreciation and gratitude.

NEXT MEETING:

The next Presbytery meeting will be in person at Eagle River Presbyterian Church on February 24-25.

ADJOURN:

The meeting adjourned at 10:45 am with Acting Executive Presbyter, Rev. Leisa Carrick leading the closing prayer.

Doreen McNeill Stated Clerk